In memory of the Father of Belizean Independence “The Rt. Hon. George Price”

Today is our National Service Day. All Belizeans are invited to carry out a community service activity in memory of the Rt. Hon. George Price who passed away on September 19 of last year. As 31st Independence Day coming, how do you characterize Rt. Hon. George Cadle Price? He is the first Prime Minister of Belize and the Father of our Nation who got well respected for his visionary leadership and strenuous contributions made to Belize’s history.

To think of George Price is to think of Belize. His life, beliefs and values have been the guiding light in the destiny of Belize, taking it from a once backward colony of Britain to a young, dynamic, sovereign, democratic Central American State in the Caribbean region. In 2000, George Price became the first person to receive Belize’s highest honor, the Order of National Hero.

“Belize, with the help of God and the support of its people, will stand upright and will do its duty and help bring peace, stability and prosperity to our region and to wider circles of our planet Earth. This is our wish and our prayers as we bid all at home and abroad a very Happy Independence Day! ” George Price gave a speech for celebration of Belizean Independence Day on September 21, 1981.

Today let us quote a poem “i carry your heart with me…” from E. E. Cummings to cherish the memory of The Rt. Hon. George Price.

[i carry your heart with me… ]

i carry your heart with me(i carry it in

my heart)i am never without it(anywhere

i go you go,my dear;and whatever is done

by only me is your doing, my darling)

i fear

no fate(for you are my fate,my sweet)i want

no world(for beautiful you are my world,my true)

and it’s you are whatever a moon has always meant

and whatever a sun will always sing is you

here is the deepest secret nobody knows

(here is the root of the root and the bud of the bud

and the sky of the sky of a tree called life;which grows

higher than soul can hope or mind can hide)

and this is the wonder that’s keeping the stars apart

i carry your heart(i carry it in my heart)